Tournament Awards


John Reid approached the game of hockey with a passion and defined success as simply hard work and perseverance. The Heart and Hustle Award is given to the St. Albert AAA Sabres player participating in the John Reid Memorial Tournament who most exemplifies these qualities.

2004 Nate Fleming
2005 Blaine Bokenfohr
2006 Steven Wall
2007 Ryan Harrison
2008 Josh Winquist
2009 Jed Groenenboom
2010 Jake Mykitiuk
2011 Tyler Mrkonjic
2012 Joshua Perrott
2013 Jake Warawa
2014 Ryan Cooper
2015 Noah Fayad
2016 Ethan Edwards
2017 Ryley Morgan
2018 David Saunders
2019 Levi Fesyk
2020 Evan Sundar
2022 Jack Kachkowski


The John Reid Memorial Scholarship is awarded once annually. Recipients of this award are chosen by the selection committee from all applicants based on the following criteria: the recipient
must be a Canadian citizen and Alberta resident who played a minimum of three years in St. Albert and who was also a memberof the U15 AAA Sabres hockey team. The recipient is selected
based on their academic performance in grade 12 as well as YEAR PLAYER leadership qualities and community involvement.

2009 Justin Kueber
2010 Joshua Maeda
2011 Steven Woolger
2012 Ryan Harrison
2013 Brady McCorriston
2014 Liam Liston
2015 Steven Canduro & Brady Reid
2016 Brad Holmes
2017 Tyler Dea
2018 Josh Perrott
2019 Curtis Peck
2020 Josh Dechaine
2021 Matthew Waldbillig
2022 Cole Gupta